A New Appreciation For

I’m curious what bands or guitar players you developed a new appreciation for AFTER you started playing guitar.

For me, a big one is The Rolling Stones. Of course anyone my age certainly hasn’t gotten through life without being aware of, if not inundated by, their music. But I can honestly say I didn’t pay them that much attention. I didn’t own a single album, CD or download of their music.

Once I started playing guitar, though, I kept wanting to learn their riffs. And Justin’s many Stones song lessons kept feeding that desire. I’ve probably tried to learn more Stones songs than any other band (heavy emphasis on “tried”). Now, I can definitely say the Keith Richards is on my Mt. Rushmore of the greatest rhythm guitar players and riff creators of all time.

2 Likes

The early Blues players like Robert Johnson. Really opened my ears to hear where the likes of Keef et all learnt their trade. Some much of those early Blues running through the veins of the early rock bands in the 60s and it still has a huge influence today. So for me it was going back to the roots.

:sunglasses:

1 Like

I’ve tried to learn guitar a few times over the past 20 years so it’s a tricky one to answer because picking up a guitar has made me listen to all of my favourite bands more closely and appreciate what they do more.
I suppose Neil Young would have largely passed me by. I listen to hard rock and metal mostly and so there’s very little in Neil’s catalog that would naturally draw me in but as I start on this guitar journey again, there’s at least 4 of his tracks that are right at the top of the list of what I want to learn to play.

2 Likes

Played guitar most of my life, grow up trying to play Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin and a bunch of Canadian bands so I’ve always appreciated good musicians.

2 Likes