🎸 BurnsRhythm’s Burning Ambitions

Hey up! I’m David from North Lancashire.

My first attempt to learn guitar was in my 30’s. That story would read as- How not to do it!
I picked my guitar up again in summer 2021 and messed around with it, on and off, for the rest of the year pretty much as in the previous attempt.

I’m 62 now and I hope this log will build up to read as a success story.

January 2022

In early January I started practicing with justinguitar grade 1 module 1 and I signed up a few weeks later.

I’ve been doing the chord exercises in modules 1 and 2.
Over the month I’ve got all the changes with A D E up to 60 changes a minute.
I find strumming and picking easy at this level.
The Peter Gunn riff is easy for me, although I can’t keep my fingers over the frets because of the stretch.
Later in the month I started learning songs with A D E I can’t do any from memory yet but I’m working on it. It all goes pear shaped when I sing. Terrible. I never could sing. I’m not beating myself up about it though, I’m learning to make my guitar sing!

Moving in to February, I’m about to start practicing in module 3 and continuing to learn my A D E songs.
I’m happy with my first month.
I feel I now have focus, structure and direction in my learning. Motivation is a bit of a problem. At 62 and working long hours, I don’t always feel like practicing. Sometimes it’s easier to watch a bit of telly and then sleep! But I do what I can.

I’m keeping going.

11 Likes

Great stuff and welcome to the community. When I started I didn’t expect to sing as I’d been told it was a lot harder so my wife sung the first song I learned, Blowin in the wind. After she’d sung it probably 50 or 60 times I accidentally started singing along in the chorus. Then I realized it wasn’t so hard. y

There is a lesson where Justin talks about singing and playing, one of the secrets is to know the song really well (as far as playing goes) before you attempt to sing. That’s effectively what happened to me.