Dave's Learning Log

Hi.
I bought my first guitar in 1989 for my 22nd birthday from an advert in the hallowed pages of Kerrang! Magazine. Whilst it was awful quality and the tuition books that came with it similarly awful, it did nothing to put me off wanting to play.

I kept buying various books with some success so I learnt to be able to change chords and all about power chords, upgraded to a Squier Strat and was up and running :smiley:

Eventually my playing interest settled on Rock and Blues, saw a teacher for about 6 months but he was trying to teach me to play like him which was way out of my league. I was more into Paul Kossoff than Nuno Bettencourt.

As my mostly self taught Kossoff licks improved I bought an Epiphone Les Paul which became my workhorse for many years. I joined a band and had a wonderful time mixing Free covers with our originals with me making 120 mile round trips every Tuesday for rehearsals. We played some major club gigs sometimes supporting major artists such as Magnum. Personal lives with some band members emigrating led to the demise of Heavy Load :slightly_frowning_face:

A few other bands followed, most notable being Powderfinger which was a Neil Young tribute, until we heard mention of a band from Australia who were recieving worldwide recognition of the same name.

I then came into some money so bought a proper Gibson Les Paul, bigger Marshall stack and formed a band called Highway who gigged regularly, managed to recoup a bit more than what I was spending on travel so all was goodā€¦ for a few years.

Again personal lives took over, especially mine. A mental breakdown and itā€™s long term effects, my playing days were over. I thought buying another Les Paul (a beautiful white Custom with gold hardware) might bring the mojo back. I was wrong. I couldnā€™t even look at my guitars for 10 yearsā€¦ Until I heard Justin on the radio for a short series heā€™d been invited to do.