Finger issues - Should I switch to playing lefthanded?

Greetings. I’ve been tinkering with guitar for about 3 years but I struggle. On my fretting (left) hand, the first knuckle doesn’t bend. It’s fixed at a slight downward angle. So for example, if I want to try a C chord I have to bend my hand and wrist at an odd angle to be able to fret the 2nd string without muting the 1st. Because of the fixed bend its also almost impossible to play a bar chord. I toy with the idea of trying to play left handed. Anyone have thoughts or experience with something like this? Thanks!

Ask Justin. He is learning left handed.

I am left handed and have been learning righty for the last year. But. I never tried playing lefty.

My thoughts:
Personally, I see no reason you can’t.
It will feel very awkward at first, and for far longer than you imagine, but you can do it.
It won’t feel good to feel like you have taken a step backwards. A large step. But being aware of this will help.
You will need to buy a new guitar (boo, I mean, yay!)
How will your bent finger work on the strumming hand?

I don’t know if any of that helps! Definitely doable, but a lot of work is my bottom line. Worth it if that is what you need to get your playing where you want it.

Go for it. You’ve got nothing to lose. I have a left handed friend who plays right handed guitar because that was all that was available when they started.

Thanks, gentlemen. Holding a pick lefthanded wouldn’t be a problem. I realize it means a different guitar and they’re not exactly common but it would be worth it to pick up something inexpensive as an experiment.

I hear you. I have the same issue but with my fretting pinky.

I could not for the life of me nail any decent chord changes or individually fretted notes in a fast manner due to my pinky which is bent at a similar angle to yours.

Till i tried a short scale guitar. The difference to me was night and day.