Guitar strings, how often should I change them and why does my guitar sound so different from other ones

Hi there. How often should I be looking at changing my guitar strings? I have 3 steel strung guitars one dreadnought and one orchestral, I’ve had them both for about six months. I’m not a heavy player but I am new to guitars and we play them for at least 30 minutes a day. They don’t seem to go out of tune much but I’m noticing the buzzing that I’ve not heard before. I’m not sure if it’s my bad finger placement or the fact that my guitars from Cheapside. 1 is a Tanglewood Crossroads, Peavey Bairwoood and the other is Stratton Payne. The Bairwoood is another issue I’ve had this guitar about 20 years and have not known any better but now I have the other two guitars although the Blairwood is in tune it really doesn’t sound as good as the others. Any help and advice on these matters would be greatly appreciated as I’ve only really recently started to appreciate guitars

In terms of how often to change your strings then it really depends on a number of factors. In general though as they age the sound starts to sound more dull…it’s actually quite difficult to tell as it happens over time BUT once you change the strings you’ll notice the difference. In fact it’ll probably sound too “bright” to start with BUT that will change once the strings are worn in a little.

If you are playing 30 mins a day for 6 months the strings will almost certainly need changing. If they visibly look dirty or you get dirty fingers when playing that’s another sign they need changing. Any corrosion similarly they need changing.