Marvellous Modal Meanderings

Wasn’t quite sure where to post this one, so Mods are free to move.

So I was going back over some old worksheets in my Practice Schedule xls I’ve been using since 2013 and updating every year. Anyway I came across a Tab labelled Intervals and it piqued by my modal meanderings from last year (on the old forum) and I thought I’d take a look at what I had put in there, donkeys years ago. 2015 in fact as I discovered !

So not surprising I had listed all the modes, their intervals and scale formulas, along with Maj & Min pentatonics and the Blues Scale. All pretty normal as you’d suspect but sitting at the bottom of the mode column was an entry for Spanish Phrygian !! Basically Phrygian with a maj 3rd. Can’t remember why I added that or what the heck it was but …

Those that know me won’t be surprised that I grabbed the nearest stringed implement to investigate further.

So after a visit to NeckDiagrams2 a little yellow box was issued forth and I had a noodle.

So as you can see, it has a bit of an identity crisis but it makes for some cool noodling, especially from the 4th string root in this example. So hey, thought I’d share this experience.
Look its got a b7 to Root so my Mixo addiction was awakened !!

So apart from the share, a couple of questions.

a) how do you write a scale formula with a tone and a half step ie b2 to 3.
This is Phrygian S T T T S T T - and yes aii) should be Who cares? I know !
b) anyone encountered this in songs they’ve played ?
c) would the diatonic chords follow the “normal formual” in this case in the Key of A
A, bBm, C#m, D, E, Fm, G7 (I’m going G7 coz I am not keen on a b7dim if that’s ok)

Ooookay, I have Southern Rock to attend too but intend to revisit this world of intrigue.

Go on have a dabble, it’ll be fun.

:sunglasses:

1 Like

OK I may have actually got an answer for a) once I looked at the Pents. TS ?? Is that it ?
S TS T T S T T ?
:thinking: