Music Theory Books - actual books - any recommendations?

Hi All, hope you’re well. I’ll be going on holiday for a week or so soon and won’t be taking the guitar with me on this occasion. I’m happy to have a break from playing here and there, as I think it helps to refuel my enthusiasm. However, I don’t want to detach completely, so I’d like to take the opportunity to read a bit of music theory if the kids give me half a chance. Can anyone recommend any good books? I’m about at level 4 on Justin’s Practical Music Theory course - so I’m not advanced, but not an absolute beginner either, I’m kind of ok at soaking up the abstract, theoretical side of things in my own time.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations, love to all.

Rich

Hey Rich,

Justins PMT pdf is your answer here. As you are subscribed to the course, you should have a copy, or can easily access it and print it out.
Enormous amout of info, about 45 pages of concise theory, plus some embedded worksheets to test you out.

Cheers, Shane

1 Like

It depends if you want an actual physical book in your hands.

Reading from a screen you could try some or all of these topics.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestions folks, very much appreciated. A screen won’t be quite so easy while I’m away, so I was thinking more along the lines of a paperback book (for easy portability) if anyone has any recommendations. I also have a long commute 3 days a week, so I’m always looking for ways to take my musical education on the train with me. Audiobooks can be good for this, but I find that if it is something I really need to soak up, they go a bit too fast for this brain.