Practice advice

So, Iā€™m not new to guitar but Iā€™m coming back after not really playing much for many years and I was previously 100% self-taught, so I have gaps in my knowledge. Iā€™m going through lessons trying to find a balance because a lot of the Beginner 1 course is too basic. Even some of the Beginner 2 course is stuff Iā€™ve got down. But, there are some elements even in Beginner 1 that I donā€™t know or at least struggle with. Particularly strumming patterns and scales.

Iā€™ve always just ā€œfeltā€ the rhythm and strummed accordingly. I used to also play drums some, so Iā€™ve got a pretty good sense of rhythm. People used to ask me ā€œwhat strumming pattern are you playing?ā€ and I couldnā€™t tell them, because I never thought about it.

I know going forward that scales are going to be important because I really want to learn to improvise, play lead and riff. But, how much should I worry about trying to play specific strumming patterns? Also, what is the best way to progress with practice? If I go back to the module where Iā€™m practicing a scale, thatā€™s helpful, but the rest of the module is way too basic. I donā€™t think I can stand to spend all that time practicing changing from G to D, for example, when I can already do that with my eyes closed.

Iā€™m thinking of just progressing through Course 2 and working on the things that give me trouble while sort of skipping over the easier bits. I just worry that Iā€™ll end up short changing myself by skipping around and only practicing the ā€œfunā€ and ā€œinterestingā€ parts.

Any good advice?

2 Likes