Should I play right or left? - I have started learning both ways

I’m a long time beginner. I as a lefty, at 15, I always had a natural inclination to hold a guitar left handed but the guitar I received was righty. It became a challenge to learn. Later as an adult, I purchased a new guitar. While looking for a lefty, I found a model I wanted but it was a righty and I let the salesman talk me into it. I struggled again and felt a lefty guitar would be more natural. Now much later, I have a lefty guitar. I am starting Justin’s courses but now, realizing I do multiple things right-handed, the lefty feels as natural as the righty. I can fret and strum with either hand at this beginner stage. Does anyone have any techniques to determine which hand has more rhythm? I’ve heard, if chosen incorrectly, speed and accuracy will evade. Thanks for your thoughts and feedback.

1 Like

Where did you hear that? I would be interested to find out what the arguments are behind it, as I find it somewhat hard to believe. Most of us have a dominant hand when it comes to everyday tasks, but that is not to say that the less dominant hand can’t be trained up to be just as good at whatever it is applied to.

I mean, I’m a righty but would say my left hand is technically faster and more accurate given that it does all the fretting. Also, check out Nitsuj (Justin teaching himself guitar left-handed)… he seems to get on fine. Away from guitar, there are right-handed boxers that box southpaw and have no issues.

Basically, I don’t think you’re gaining any overall advantage in choosing one over the other. I think the only real consideration is whatever feels most natural and comfortable for you personally.

1 Like

My wife is lefthanded and struggled to play guitar until she started playing left. If left feel more natual play left handed.

Here are some articles I’ve read on the topic: