12 String Help

Hi, I’m pretty new to all things 12-string.I’ve got a Faith Neptune 12-string and the high D string has just broken on me. They were decent strings (Elixir) and haven’t been on long. I’ve never had a problem with my Faith 6-string which I’ve had for years.
Wondering if it was my choice of gauge (11 high)?
Any advice around string choice or anything else would be appreciated
Frank :+1:

Do you know the gauges recommended by the manufacturer? Higher gauges may require adjustment of the nut.

Unless it’s a manufacturing fault in the string, nuts and saddles that are too sharp or do not let the string move freely when tuning may lead to quicker string wear or a sudden break.

1 Like

I know that Faith ship with 12’s, so I actually went down a gauge - done that with my 6-string with no issues so I’m wondering if a 12-string is less forgiving . . .

I get a lot of breakages with the high G string. TBH, I’ve just taken to keeping a lot of spares around. It’s not ideal, but it’s good enough for now (I don’t play the 12-string a huge amount).

I don’t think using a lighter gauge would in itself lead to strings breaking. I’ve used these sets (all of them 10-47) before and never did any of the strings break:

D’Addario XSAPB1047-12

Martin Authentic Lifespan 2.0 92/8 Phosphor Bronze

Martin Authentic SP 92/8 Phosphor Bronze

Though I have my 12 string tuned a semitone lower than standard tuning and put a capo to the 1st fret if needed, so there’s less tension on the strings.

I’d say if it’s about only 1 string breaking, chances are that the cause of the problem is somewhere where the string makes contact with the nut and/or the saddle.

1 Like

Check where it broke for any rough or sharp spots otherwise just replace it and carry on

1 Like

Hi Frank, welcome to somewhat rarified world of 12-string. You must have a Faith Venus.
I hope I can add to the good advice you’ve already been given.