A year late but hello from Kim, Wiltshire, UK

I bought my guitar a year ago as a complete beginner, aged 55. My aim was to pick it up and play it every day, no minimum time limit, no pressure (which turned out to be the right decision because the early finger pain meant a couple of minutes were enough some days).

Well, a year later, there’s only been one day where I haven’t picked it up and I don’t think anyone would blame me for not playing that day if I explained why. I have been through grades 1 & 2 in that year and am now starting consolidation, which I have decided will take as long as it takes, it could be another year. I am a lefty learning righty which probably is slowing me down.

It’s given me even greater respect for musicians, my goodness it’s not easy but very rewarding.

Good to meet you all, I have found the community very supportive and useful.

9 Likes

Hello Kim, and a warm Welcome to the community :hugs:.

I’m also taking it slow. I always remind myself, that it’s a journey and not a race :grinning:.

I wish you lots of fun with your guitar, Justins course and this wonderful community :blush:.

3 Likes

Hi Kim,
Welcome,and I wish you many more years of fun :sunglasses:,…good for you to step out of the shadows and introduce yourself :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

3 Likes

Welcome Kim. Hope you have many more years of fun.

2 Likes

Welcome Kim, and of course better late than never! I have been here a while and still haven’t posted my introduction :rofl:

It’s great to hear about your experience! And I like your approach of not having any minimum time limit, I share that :blush:

2 Likes

Welcome to the community Kim.

2 Likes

Hey Kim, welcome to the community. You’ve made playing guitar an integral part of your lifestyle. Good on you. I started playing when i was 53 some 10 years ago and it gives me much joy to be able to make my own music. Keep at it, the fun just improves with time.

2 Likes