Absolute beginner's buying experience with the Squier Bullet Mustang HH

Hi everyone!

I’m only on week 2 of my guitar journey but I thought I’d post my perspective on buying this guitar. For me, I just wanted something cheap just in case I fell off of playing, but also something good enough to get me through my first year (hopefully) of playing guitar (I’m sure a lot of people have the same thought).

This guitar was on sale ($150 which I think is a good price for it) so I looked at dozens of review which mostly raved at the value. I also watched a couple of videos of what seem to me like really good guitarist playing it. To my untrained ears it sounded amazing! So I purchased it online.

My local guitar center did not have one of these so I had to get it shipped. My understanding is that if you purchase a guitar from a physical Guitar Center store is that they will set it up for you (make sure everything is at factory spec). Since I ordered online I did get this done.

When it came it looked great but the strings, frets and the fret board had some issues. For one, the strings could stay in tune for very long at all and didn’t sound great (again untrained ears, but it just didn’t feel right). Second, the frets had what felt like some gunk on it and weren’t very smooth. Finally, the fret board looked unhealthy? If that makes sense. Almost had an ashy dusty look to it.

Below is a pic that hopefully shows you what I mean:

So I scoured the internet for some recommendations on what to do and I ended buying some fret polishing cloths, fret board polish, and new strings based on some videos I saw. After some work I think the guitar looked a million times better than before the change.

Here’s the after:

Still some imperfections but I thought it had a much healthier look to it.