Adrien - introducing myself

Hi I’d like to introduce myself to the community! My name is Adrien I’m 67 years young and I’m a beginner, I started to learn guitar in October of last year. I took a few private lessons at a local store, which I felt was slow going. But learning and go hooked.

I started going through YouTube videos and stumbled across JustinGuitar, I watched a bunch of video lessons and the more I watch the better I liked what I was seeing. Therefore I dropped the private lessons, downloaded the JustinGuitar lessons and song app, which I joined, so far it’s been great. I have learned a lot more then I did with private lessons.

So far it’s been good, doing pretty good on the one minute practice of the cords, although not all of them sounds good, the songs well that’s a different story seem to be have a hard time keeping up with strumming. Just not sure at what point I should advance to next lesson. I’m on module 2 of the beginner course right now.

My goal is to be able to play songs around a campfire with family and friends. My favorite genre is country, I do love the oldies also.

Looking forward to chatting with people on the community.

Adrien

2 Likes

Hi Adrien and welcome to the forums! You’ll find them a great help and support as you continue on with Justin’s course. It is interesting you’ve found them better for you than private lessons, everyone teaches and learns differently really!

I would not worry too much about keeping up with strumming at the moment, just a single down strum on the first beat of each bar is an achievement at the stage you are at, chord changes are really the key for you to focus on I think when playing with songs. In terms of moving on, my advice is when you feel comfortable with the module 1 practice, I certainly don’t think you should hold yourself back, you will know when to consolidate, if you feel you’re ready then go for it!

Good luck and I look forward to hearing more on your journey! - Mark.