All the small things - first recording

Well been here a couple of weeks and thought I’d better get something posted.

Here is my current level on All The Small Things - Blink-182. With a basic 10W kit amp the tone is the best I could get. Gotta work out how to up the recording quality but hey I’m no artist .

My own observations, I normally play with headphones playing to the speaker I couldn’t really hear the song so lost time a little in places.

Still working on getting the palm muting consistent. Sorta hit it on off at the moment.

I’ve only really just started playing standing so getting comfy with that now is good, surprised how much it does impact you however.

Cheers in advance!

15 Likes

An important milestone. It’s great Rhys that you can be objective about your playing, to find what’s working and what needs polish. Well done.

1 Like

Thanks Batwoman

1 Like

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Congrats, Rhys. First recording a milestone to celebrate and it showcases excellent progress.

I thought the tone was pretty good, nothing to feel apologetic about. Possibly you could turn up the volume of the BT just a smidge in the video.

Your guitar and left arm position look pretty. The thing to pay attention to is the angle of the bend of your wrist. It doesn’t look too severe on the video but perhaps a slight guitar position adjustment could reduce the bend a little more. But if you experience no sense of stress in a long playing session then all is good.

To my ears … admittedly not the most acute … your muting of the low E when playing PC with root on the A string is on point, which is critical when pumping 8s on those PC rockers.

The rhythm was pretty solid as well. I did notice a pause in the strum for the 1/8 note rest and maybe you want to work on keeping the down strums going but just miss the strings for rest. That said, I could see your body keeping time, so I don’t think it was necessarily throwing you out of the groove.