Am I hurting or helping my learning by practicing with more than one guitar?

It sounds crazy, I know, but I have more than one guitar even though I am an absolute beginner. I doubt anyone else in history has done that, right? :wink:

As I am fortunate to work at home, I have put a guitar stand by my desk … I can pick it up and strum a few chords when I have a few minutes to spare.

And I have 2 other guitars sitting around… All together, I have one electric, one acoustic concert, and one acoustic dreadnaught. The three instruments feel really different. (The electric feels much easier after torturing myself with an acoustic’s stiff strings and higher action!)

The electric is my primary interest by far but it is much easier to just pick up an acoustic and play it, so most of my practice time is on an acoustic.

So the question is… am I doing myself a disservice by experiencing several different instruments? Is it better for me to eliminate all but my favorite guitar?

I hope the answer is no, because picking up an acoustic when I have a spare minute has gotten me to practice more. More time with any guitar in my hands seems like it has to be the right answer, but I am open to being corrected.

Hi and welcome to Community. Of course there are lots of differences between all those guitars but because you are just starting I think it’s okay to use any guitar in close proxomity. Probably would be easier learning on just one but doesn’t mean it’s impossible to learn on various ones :wink: all the best.

It’s very dependent on the individual. What’s most important is quality practice, where you are working on improving your basic skills. And example of that would be doing the one minute chord change exercise.