Am I ready to meet up with jam buddies? Is my pick too thin?

I have two General question,
if you where looking for a jam buddy, how many cords should you know before you go down that track I know A,E,D,Em,Am, still working on Dm and some strumming patterns.

Second question
I feel my pick is making to much noise I’m using a 45 it’s really thin like Justin says to use, or is it too soft and when do you try a thicker one. I do use both Electric and acoustic guitars, I’m only a beginner.

Hi Ann, I wouldnt worry about how many chords you know , just find a jam buddy and get stuck in, it’ll be the quickest way of progressing, if they know more than you they’ll help you along.

You know the 1/4/5 chords of A ( A, D, E), once you throw in a G chord you can do 1/4/5 in D also , then add C etc.

But you can get started just with 1 or 2 chords

I feel my pick is making to much noise

Hard to know for sure but at a guess you are probably holding it too tight and at to square an angle.

Try holding it looser and making sure the tip is pointing up a little on the down stroke (and down a little on the up stroke). Also you want to be hitting the strings with the leading edge of the pick not the absolute tip (this will be the nut facing edge on the down stroke, the bridge facing edge ont he up stroke) .

3 Likes

.46 is really thin. I used to use .60 Fender nylon, and eventually the “slapping” sound drove me crazy, I now use .73 Fender nylon and am much happier with it. The material matters, too, not just the thickness.

Thank you I will try that

Cool!

Take it easy and be prepaired to drop a few picks! Holding one whilst strumming is a skill in itself, they move about some and you are always fiddling with them whilst playing…

Dont worry about holding a chord, just play open and go slowly at first and practice strumming

I did try a 60 but found it too stiff.for my first pick. I will have another try thank you.

Again, material matters. A .60 nylon is pretty flexible.