Amp/guitar tones setting

Good Afternoon All,

I am a newbie in my guitar journey, so Please excuse my lack of knowledge in the subject. I’ve been using Justin’s lessons for several weeks now and absolutely loving it. In addition to my lessons, I am working on learning several different songs: (Back in Black) (Sweet Home Alabama) (Werewolves of London) etc. I have an electric guitar and a Yamaha THR 30 amp. My question is this: is there a website, app etc where I can get/find the proper (amp/guitar) settings, for each different song, to make my guitar’s tones/affects sound like those of each song (ie. southern rock, classic, blues etc)?

Many Thanks

Welcome to the community @Sdnewbie

There are a few places around like GuitarPatches and Toneshare.

But I would encourage you, rather than blindly downloading and using patches which claim to make you sound like Muddy Waters or Duane Allman, learn how to dial in the tone you want into your amp yourself. The first part of this is understanding what sort of tone you are looking for.

And before you say “I told you: southern rock, classic blues, etc.” that’s not really the right answer. Each of these genres has a wide range of tones used by different artists and may artists will have more than one tone they use. Plus a given tone is often applicable to other genres, so labelling them can be unhelpful.

The right answer IMO is critical listening to music with tones you want to replicate, and then trying to understand what characteristics those tones have, which then leads to how to dial them into the amp.

Note that, whilst amps like the THR series have a fair amount of bells and whistles in terms of effects and effect options, you can generally ignore these and focus on the core amp tone which is basically: amp model, gain, and EQ.

A few important things to be aware of: