Angling guitar towards you

So, I’m a beginner who’s been playing about 5 months, currently working through Justin’s course. Up to now I’ve been learning on an electric guitar.

I just got an acoustic guitar (was going to wait until I had learned a bit more before buying it but couldn’t wait in the end). With the body being a lot deeper than the electric, it naturally tends to sit up vertical when i rest it on my leg, so when i look down I’m looking at the top of the guitar, not the fretboard. I realised I’ve been leaning my electric guitar towards me all the time, so I can see what I’m doing when learning.

Is there anything inherently wrong with a slight angle towards you (like 20 degrees), or is it ultimately limiting or a bad habit? I can play some stuff without looking, but not when learning new stuff.

3 Likes

I’m a few year in and still like to look down at the fretboard, especially when learning something new.

The biggest issue is straining your neck always looking down.

I guess it’s a bad habit, but guilty here too :raising_hand_man:

I think in one of Justin’s earlier lessons he suggests setting up so that you are looking through a mirror???

Edit:

2 Likes

I have thought too much about these ergonomic guitar issues.

I think it really depends on how you hold the guitar in general.

In classical positions, the neck is up at near 45 degrees and close to your body (not out over the left knee). This allows a small tilt back less than 20 degrees likely. The top of the upper bout against the chest and the bottom of the lower bout out near mid thigh on the right.