Any free sources for learning music theory?

I just started playing guitar a few months ago. I like it and I wanna understand what I am doing at a deeper level, that’s why I wanna learn theory. Ik Justin has a theory course, but after a few lessons, its paid. And seeing as I am college student, my parents won’t agree to pay for that. So, do you guys know any free resources on web or books for learning music theory?

1 Like

Hey mate,

Just a few things for you to consider;

1. Justin’s theory course costs about $10AUS every 6 months. Perhaps you can pay that way if it suits better. Justin’s practically giving it away at this price.

2. There is an ENORMOUS amount of practical theory in the free grades 1 and 2. If done thoroughly, it should keep you busy for some months.

3. You’d be hard pressed to find a better, more structured, more thorough, and guitar-centred theory course anywhere on the internet. Plus it is highly practical, and will put you on the guitar, consolidating and applying what you learn. It will give you a great foundation.

4. Justins teaching style is very conducive to learning,. His obvious depth of understanding allows him to convey initially difficult concepts in a clear, concise way.

If you can, financially, cover the small monthly fee, you’re going to get a massive return on your investment as you develop. Highly recommend it, as do many, many others here.

All the best.

Cheers, Shane

3 Likes

https://viva.pressbooks.pub/openmusictheory/

2 Likes

Really? I guess some people want everything for free…

So ungrateful

Try the library or don’t they have those on Campus anymore.

1 Like

Not all teaching is equal, so free is not a bargain if it isn’t very good. I can’t speak to Justin’s music theory course, I feel I got a pretty decent jump start back in the 80’s when I first started playing (from a folkie teacher first hand). This grounding even stayed with me after a very long pause in my playing.