Aurimas learning log

Hello, everyone. I joined this site relatively not that long ago, maybe a year or more. Had a guitar since I was 18, but started to learn it only when I hit 29, because I had to take up some hobbies in-between caring for ailing family member to not go insane. So, I’m no in Beginner’s grade 2, started F chord lessons in December 2021, I think. Practically, over a span of a year from different songs learnt (or quasi learnt) techniques that are in other modules down the line though (like power chords, bending, harmonics, palm muting etc.). Though, IMO, it will take years to actually achieve instant chord changes where there is practically no pause in between (although, the longest pause is not more than a second, so, who knows…)

Mainly, my practice routine consists of “ladder” or “spider-walk” exercise in order to stretch out my fingers, then one minute of perfect chord changes (once I hit a mark above 60 during consistent period of time, I move on to other chords, which I have yet to reach such number and beyond), sometimes (in order to not forget) I also run down (depending on my mood - fast or slow) E minor and C major pentatonic scales, but not always, then I start playing songs from my song-book that incorporate different chord progressions.

Maybe a couple of days ago, I also started to “sing” along with songs that I play. I found that slower tempo songs are easier to sing along to (like Pink Floyd “Wish You Were Here” or Guns N’ Roses “Patience”), though, it’s not much of a singing, but more of a mumbling-singing under my nose.

Regarding F chord changes. They are getting along nicely. Today it was:

F to A: 58, F to D: 56, F to E: 59, F to Am: 58. F to Em: 60, F to Dm: 66, F to C: 56 and F to G: 57.

So, I guess, from time to time, I’m gonna post something new in to this diary. Maybe even put in some songs with my “singing” (but I doubt it, rather it just gonna be instrumentals).

2 Likes

Hey Aurimas,