Been Holding Thumb on Neck Wrong

Hi, I’ve been learning how to play acoustic guitar for over 2 months now, and just figured out that I’ve been holding my thumb incorrectly on the guitar neck the whole time. Every time I heard that the thumb should be “pointing towards the top,” I thought that meant the headstock, but it actually means the side of the guitar neck as it’s pointing upward when the guitar is held in the casual position (the low E string.) Or at least I think that’s what it means. When I changed to the correct position, as awkward as it felt, my chords were suddenly much smoother.

Guess I’m just feeling discouraged because I basically have to relearn how to do the handful of chords and changes I know all over again. Has this or something similar ever happened to anyone else? I feel so dumb.

5 Likes

Ah you’ve figured it out its not to o much to relearn so dont worry

1 Like

Nope, but I reckon since the change is easier on your hand you’ll probably settle into it really quickly. Comfort often wins.

correct-thumb-position
Downward-Angle-Riff-Technique

What an aha moment! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi Courtney, yes, this sounds familiar to me. I always had a bit of an angle in my thumb position, and realized this only after half a year. I was made aware by our fellow community members when I shared a video of me playing. It didn’t take me long to relearn it, the self awareness was the most important step. It was well worth relearning it.

1 Like

Not a dumb moment at all! It is not intuitive particularly and navigating the guitar is a new skill. I remember a lot of thumb angst in the first several months.

After 3 years, I still struggle to let my thumb move with my hand. It wants to stay put whether I move my fingers along the fretboard or across the strings.

1 Like