Beginner acoustic guitar recommendation

Hello, my name is Sebastian and I’ve been practicing guitar for about 9 months now. So far I’m playing on a used Epiphone DR-100 to see if I’ll stick with it. I really enjoy it a lot and that’s why I want to treat myself to my own guitar for Christmas.

I particularly like two models. On the one hand the Hummingbird replica from Sigma Guitars the DM-SG5 and the Guild OM-120 Nat Westerly. I particularly like that both have a solid top and a slightly wider fretboard. I think, they are both real eye candy. A pickup is actually not that important to me. Does anyone of you have experience with one of these guitars or can give me a good recommendation? Which of the two is better in quality and would be the better buy? Please excuse my rather bad English. Some hints would be very appreciated!

Warm greetings,
Sebastian

3 Likes

The Sigma is a very nice option, but also the SIGMA DA-SG7 (Gibson Dove inspired) is also very nice. I can recommend the Sigma brand from my own experience, but not that size of guitar I can’t manage the size of a Dreadnaught!
Also there’s the Epiphone Hummingbird and Dove inspired by Gibson versions that are better quality than the standard versions, those are excellent (I have a friend who has the Hummingbird version). The other brand worth mentioning is Seagull, they also make very nice guitars in that price bracket.

1 Like

Thank you Darrell for your help. I will check the Seagull guitars as soon as possible

Sebastian,

If you like the sound and feel of the Epiphone you are currently playing, I would also suggest just keeping it and spending your money on having a comprehensive set-up done on it (crown & level the frets, verify the nut is cut perfectly, tweak the truss-rod and file the bridge to lower the action as much as possible.

Unless your current guitar is already set up really well, you’ll likely get more enjoyment out of the new setup on the old guitar than you would from a new guitar.