Beginner Grade 1 , attempt at Wish You Were Here

Hiya , I am so out my comfort zone here recording myself lol but I’m a beginner 6 months into my journey and and Oldie at that , So I saw Justin’s video on this and even though it’s above my level I thought I’d give it a go , the first time I’ve recorded myself which was tough to do and hope it gets easier lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iU4nemOn3e8

9 Likes

Well done Jason. Congratulations on your first song post mate. Feels good to get that first one posted doesnt it?
You did well for only 6 months in. You had the strumming pattern pretty much right, chords sounded ok, and you were picking the right notes.
Keep at it, and as you develop under Justins teaching, it will develop with you.

And don’t hesitate to join in ask for help. It’s a great community here, full of tremendous folk all helping each other out on the journey.

All the best.
Cheers, Shane

1 Like

You have the notes right and the fingering is accurate. I think you can make some gains in rhythm. Especially get practice in developing steady up-down strumming with a metronome. This video helped me a lot: Feel Good Strumming | JustinGuitar.com

Think about which notes/chords want to be on the down strum and which ones want to be on the up strum. You should find that down strums naturally happen on the beat and up strums happen on the “and” of the beat.

1 Like

Congratulations on your first AVOYP posting Jason.

That was a nice effort. It’s not an easy one to do. Picking was good, chords were good and the strumming was good, a lot to be proud of.

Once you know where your fingers need to be on your left hand, life does get easier as you’re then not having to look for left to right.

Your dog was well chilled about it all. :smiley:

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback think the nerves kicked in a bit for a first time lol I have done better but not on cam which is probably so often the case