Beginner troubles

Hello all I just recently got an acoustic guitar and started watching Justinā€™s lessons. The biggest thing I am struggling with so far is muting the thinner E string. Obviously as a beginner I am struggling with a lot but the other issues I am able to little by little fix it, but I continuously run into this problem more than anything else. I am a bigger guy with some chubby hands and was wondering if anyone has tips for this as I feel like as the days go I am starting to understand a little more but I canā€™t seem to get around this issue.

Hi Zach,

It would help to know what trouble you have - fingers when doing a particular chord, hand touching the string, whatever. If you can give an example or two, it will help you get good answers. Pictures are good too.

And of course: Welcome to the forums!! You should find a lot of useful stuff here.

welcome to the forum Zach.

Just starting out your fingers will still be soft and spread out when you press on the strings. Plus most beginners press to hard. You only need enough pressure to make the strings ring out. So try pressing a little lighter and see if that helps.

2 Likes

Stitch, you da man! As always, appreciate your insight.

Of course. Right now Iā€™m practicing the D Chord and a C Chord. Those chords are causing me the main issues where on the C chord my palm is touching the E string, and on the D chord my 3rd finger is touching the E string. When I try to move my 3rd finger up a little I end up moving my 2nd finger. So I fix one issue to where my 3rd finger isnā€™t touching anymore but now my 2nd finger has moved from where it needs to be to execute on that bottom string.

Will absolutely give that a try thank you!

Hi Zach,

for your palm touching, I have that trouble as well. A good correction for that is to get your thumb better centered on the back of the neck. It will force your hand down and out of the way.