Better late than never

Hi All,
I’m Corine, 40s, from the US with a job or two and a kid or two and a husband and a dog and never seemed to be able to carve out a space to learn something I’ve wanted to learn for a LONG time.

I’m an artist and creative person but tended to visual arts and writing because it was easier for me than music. Have a talented older brother that was very naturally good at music and his perfectionism made me question my skills. So I shied away from something because I didn’t like not being good at it. Why waste my time if I just don’t have it, right?

But the music kept calling me and I just love the guitar and I love the sound and melodies and the way it makes me feel. So I’m finally back here and back at it and really enjoying it actually. Sometimes I get emotional about it because I just didn’t realize how important it was to me. I’m so glad to be here.

And I’m really grateful to everyone, Justin, Richard, Nicole, Lee, and all the volunteers and people who do this amazing work putting out videos and hosting live classes and running this forum. I’m really grateful for the POSITIVITY. I realized long ago, I need a cheerleader. This is hard. I sound terrible some days. But I know I’m getting better and either way, I do enjoy it. So I just have to keep going and I know that I will get where I want to go.

So I’m here for the music, for the positivity and for myself and I thank everyone for welcoming me and letting me learn alongside you guys! Thank you for the music, it means a lot to me!

Best wishes,
Corine

10 Likes

Welcome to the forum Corine

Hi Corine and welcome to the forum! We’re happy to have you here.