Black by Pearl Jam Lesson

Learn to play Black by Pearl Jam on JustinGuitar!

View the full lesson at Black by Pearl Jam | JustinGuitar

Justin - BEST SINGING YET! This is your wheelhouse for singing! Got me thinking that your voice probably fits with Dave Mathews Band as well. Anyway, gave me a better appreciation for Pearl Jam. Thanks!

1 Like

This guy’s great for non song lessons, but no beginner would have any idea how to play these songs based on this video You can’t even look up the music elsewhere since he uses a simplified version.

I am still a beginner but find this video/lesson very usefull. I also have the beginner songbook that features this song, great help.

1 Like

Maybe having the songbook helps. Either way, we aren’t told a strumming pattern. We aren’t told how many measures for each chord, exactly when to switch, etc. I think if we had 100 beginner players watch this video and then tell them to play Black, there’s no way 99 of them don’t immediately fail. He moves way too fast, doesn’t break anything down, and then skips to different chord progressions without telling you were they fall, etc. I’m guessing paying for the app would make this lesson usable, which is probably the point this free video.

And yes, I realize this is a free lesson, so I shouldn’t complain, yada yada. But if the lesson is unusable by a noob without the paid app then it’s really just an ad for said app. Which I think is a valid complaint.

At 5:57 Justin Clearly explains the strumming pattern

At 2:52 Justin Clearly talks about the chords progression and how measures of each

You can pause video and rewind them.

You can’t learn a song by watching a video once.

3 Likes

Sorry, no dice. He talks vaguely about “feeling” the strumming pattern, but nothing really concrete.

He gives the measures for the verse in the beginning, but not the chorus He half sings about measures as he plays the chorus but its hard to follow.