Blues as a beginner

Hey, I am a beginner with over 2 months of experience and I finished the grade 1 a month ago. My passion for guitar is because of blues music. I have jumped directly to the module on blues that Justin has on grade 2 since I was feeling like the other modules were not making me have much fun and I honestly feel like I could make more progress on my goal: playing blues songs and being able to improvise by having a great vocabulary and dexterity on blues. I am really excited about “before you accuse me” lesson and have not only learned the shuffle riff and 12 bar blues variations in any key but learned the intro and some of the licks Justin plays in between, and I think I’m doing it well at least for me and my ears hehe. Anyways I am enjoying it! I wanted to ask for advice on what to do to accelerate my learning in blues and guitar overall and would like to know if it is smart to redesign the practice routine /course study to a more specific blues one on Justin web. Thank you

1 Like

Hi Alejandro,
Welcome to this awesome community :slight_smile:
It’s great that you have set a clear goal for yourself in the learning process; now you know exactly where you’re going and what you want to achieve. The rest will come as time passes, and I’m pretty sure you’ll succeed.
Yes, blues is a great and vastly influential style in modern music. As regards the practice routine, I think the optimum approach in your case would be to continue learning the basics (licks, riffs, different chords applicable to blues and variations of the 12-bar blues) along with playing songs that you like.
Anyway, all the best in your endeavouring,

Hi Alejandro and welcome to the Community.
Great to hear you’re enjoying your guitar and have identified the path you want to follow.