Bob's Learning Log

Hi everyone,

I’ve been learning with Justin since mid-July, 2020, like a lot of people, starting up in the midst of the pandemic. I had a Washburn D12-S left-handed, which I bought back around 1999-2000. Took one-on-one lessons with a couple of different local guitarists but it didn’t last and I’ve been mostly idle from then to 2020. In listening to Justin’s advice about it being easier to learn with an electric, because of the string sizes and the smaller neck, I went out and bought a beginner’s Squire Stratocaster and eventually a Boss mini amp. Last year, I picked up a Breedlove, from their Eco Collection, a Discovery S Concert left-handed guitar. It’s a little smaller than the Washburn dreadnought. But I have size 12 strings on it and had 11’s put on the Washburn when I had it set up. Here’s a picture of all three.

After working through Grades 1, 2, the old Grade 3, and parts of Grade 4, I’ve since gone a bit random. I’ve returned to Grade 3 with the newer lessons and am enjoying that. But I’ve also got away from my formal practices (which I had tried to do 3-4 days a week) and have been mostly working on improving songs, with a smattering of exercises thrown in. It’s not ideal, truly, but at least I’m improving.

Some of the things I’ve been working on include barre chords, chord transitions, especially those necessary for some songs, G major scale, finger gym, and occasionally small riffs.

I’ve been shy about sharing video of my playing but I’ve decided there’s no time like the present, so I’ll be uploading my playing/singing I’m a Believer by the Monkees over in the Record Yourself area of the community. Will soon add some others.

That’s about it for now. I want to start interacting more about my own playing with others so that I can improve.

Bob

8 Likes