Boss Katana 50 MK II vs... A.N. Other?

Hello all - I have a Boss Katana 50 MK II and it is great. However, I am not especially interested in deep diving into software for effects, etc. I am a beginner and will be a home player primarily but hope to jam with peeps eventually. Is there are an equivalent amp which I could get which doesn’t require me hooking up my phone to get more effects?
Many thanks,
Go well
Ben

1 Like

There’s amps like a Fender Mustang which have a small screen and a couple of buttons that you can use to get access to most or all of the amp settings through “menu diving”.

But, frankly, most people find the apps to be easier to use. Trying to access effects and other programming (because regardless of how you do it is still programming) on a small screen with menus and a navigation buttons is usually quite slow and painful.

If you are looking for wireless app access on a phone or tablet, unfortunately, the Katana MK2 doesn’t support Bluetooth which some other amps (including the new Katana Gen 3) do.

But you can get the XSonic Airstep controller which gives you a foot controller for the Katana MK2 (and other models) and also gives you Bluetooth app control.

Cheers,

Keith

Thanks a lot for this, Keith. I have watched the video: it looks to be just what I am after. Presumably, you simply plug it in and it connects to the app via Bluetooth, effectively meaning the amp can then be controlled via Bluetooth?
Thanks again!

I’ve recently gone from the Mk11 50 Katana with Airstep to the Fender Mustang GTX100. I’d echo much of the reply from Keith above. I suppose what I’d add is that the GTX100 (or the GTX50) does come with 190 different presets and I’d think most people could find at least a few acceptable tones in there for whatever style of music they want to play.