Brothers In Arms - early work in progress video

One of my all-time favourite tracks from Dire Straits. I’m still very new to playing lead licks. I thought Brothers In Arms would be an OK place to start, because the lead part isn’t very fast, but (as I’m learning) playing slowly and softly like this is its own kind of difficult! With all this crunchy gain, you can hear every little buzz and squeak so I’m having to pay a lot more attention to microscopic details than I’m used to.

I’ve just got the intro & first verse so far. I’m only about a week into learning this song but I’m having a good time. :smiley:

12 Likes

Hello Brendan, from another Dire Straits fan :smiley:. I’m still at the beginning of my guitar journey, so I haven’t done any lead playing yet. Just wanted to say, that I really like your first attempts :slightly_smiling_face:. The required softness you’ve mentioned, is definitely there - sounds really good :+1::clap:.
I’m looking forward to learn more about your progress with this beautiful song :blush:.

1 Like

For sure man. I couldn’t agree more. Slow can be very challenging and something I really have to work at too.
I think it’s good to be fast, but slow, ya really gotta hear the music to make it sound right.
Cool video Brendan. I like that ya did slow on your Ibenez. I’m down with the contrast.

2 Likes

Haha, thanks. I wish I could say it was some kind of cool stylistic choice but the Ibanez is simply my primary guitar. I only have the 2, and the Ibanez is definitely the higher quality one. I very rarely reach for my Squier anymore.

Having said that, I did play the rhythm part on my Squier on this song, just for some variety. I was thinking, if I end up learning the whole song and making a full video, it would be neat to cut between me playing the chords and the leads on the two different guitars.