Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison Lesson

Learn to play Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison on JustinGuitar!

View the full lesson at Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison | JustinGuitar

Could we get this song on the app please?

1 Like

Ryan @Ryan239

First of all welcome to the community :grinning::guitar::notes:
This song was on the the app but was removed recently for copyright reasons as were a number of others. I understand Musopia are trying to get them back but no news on this yet.
Michael

Relative beginner here! In case it helps anyone else: I finally cracked singing and playing together for song with a small
mod to the lesson:

1 - Note that each line of the verse starts on the second upbeat (1&2& hey where did we go), not on a downbeat.
2 - This made it hard for me to use the 4 downstroke strum pattern, since singing doesn’t begin on any strum.

What made the difference for me was switching to DDUUD strum pattern.

Once I got enough muscle memory on it, I was able to start singing in sync with the first up G strum, which lines everything else up nicely.

6 Likes

Paul @lefthandedlatte
Are you comparing with the original recorded version as the play along in App has been removed.
If I look at the song in the book and on the tabs app not sure I see what you mean.
However I think Justin intended it to be very much a beginners song and does not really give instructions on how to combine it with singing. When I learnt to play and sing this song, to be able to just do it in a reasonable fashion was good enough for me at that stage of the journey, was not really looking for perfection.
If what you say works for you then that is great…
Michael :notes:
PS hopefully if I look back in the future on some of my recorded versions and think I could now do that better then I will have made progress.

Right Paul @lefthandedlatte
Now had a look at the lesson and slowed it right down and I think I can see what you mean.