C#m9 Chord Help

Hey, relatively beginner guitarist here.

I need help with the C#m9 chord shape (tab attached) I’m on acoustic, a dreadnought, with fairly average sized hands and I can’t seem to make the distance from the second fret with my index finger and the fourth fret with my middle finger work, I can’t seem to reach no matter how I try to adjust my wrist. This is for the Tom Misch arrangement of Isn’t She Lovely.

Any help would be great.

1 Like

you could try an alternative fingering?

1 Like

That would help for that particular chord, but then I’d have to immediately jump back for the F#13, only to jump back to the 6th fret for the remainder of the progression.

C#m9>F#13>A/B>Emaj9

Hey welcome to the forum btw!

How beginner are you because these chords do not look beginner at all

Thanks for the welcome! I’m appreciating the responsiveness and quickness of all the help.

I know alot of the simpler chords/songs at this point, I’m a violinist turned guitarist so music isn’t new to me; just the instrument. I know a few fingerstyle songs, so I mean it appears accomplishable, but still difficult enough for me to ask about it. This is probably one of the first few hurdles I’m struggling with.

ah right, genuinely doesnt look like a starter chord for sure

1 Like

Welcome to the Community Justin. You’ve raised a good point here.

[quote]=“justinsatchel, post:3, topic:194810”]
but then I’d have to immediately jump back for the F#13,[/quote]
Although there are always several chord voicings for a chord on guitar, the key thing is where you’re coming from/going to.
I’d suggest having a go at Justin’s finger stretching lesson, but as a violinist you’ve probably got good stretch.
Finger Stretching Exercise
Perhaps it’s just a case of keep on practising.

1 Like

Hello Justin and welcome to the community.

I don’t want to deter you from your dream songs but that is way beyond beginner level, it is very much advanced, post-intermediate level.

1 Like