Can’t choose NGD - Martin SC-10e or Taylor GTe Urban Ash, or M 000-15

Hey all,

I’m in perpetual guitar selection process now. Spent hours in music store, played multiple martins and taylors. Thought about Taylor American Dream series, but tried to narrow to two.

I got these two, and going back and forth between them: GTe UA is 1100€, all solid, but somehow very bright, I can’t get used to it (and people criticize it for that). Other woods are cool, but it’s instantly 1800.

SC-10e is great, 1400€, innovative, comfy, has both from Martin and Taylor worlds, but I’m hesitant about the veneer sides. Does it matter a lot?

I’m a beginner player, getting into grade 2, I have an American professional strat, and decided to get an acoustic I like to pick it up and play any moment.

1 Like

Potentially strings but mate if you dont like the sound dont buy it.

Could be made of toffee or the best spruce it doesnt matter if you dont like the sound

3 Likes

IIRC, Taylors ship with Elixir phosphor bronze, which are a “warmer” sound. I think Taylors are known for a brighter sound; some call it crisper, some say it’s a more modern (as opposed to traditional) sound. But if it’s not your cup of tea . . .

Yes, it feels like I want some of the guitars mentally, intellectually, but sound-wise I’m drawn to random other ones. I want to start playing and practicing though, instead of being in limbo mid-guitars :sweat_smile:

Urban Ash has a weird flatness to it, I couldn’t love it. I liked the guitar as a thing, but when it played I cringed

1 Like

Guitar shops should be setup different.

You walk in - no guitars.

Taken to an audition room, blindfolded, handed a series of guitars the assistant thinks might suit your requirements.

You choose the best sounding most comfortable to play instrument

They wrap it and send you home…

3 Likes