CC's Learning Log

I’ve been tossing around the idea of making a learning log for myself here. Decided to bite the bullet, since I’m prone to forget little wins in life in general. So I’ll try to keep track of myself here.

I’m Constance (or Connie or CC, whatever suits your sentence) and I started learning at the end of last year, a few days before my first post I think… I have a lovely Maton M325 steel string acoustic guitar. I’m 35 for a few weeks yet and this is the first time I’ve played since a few weeks in school music class at thirteen. I prop my foot up on my guitar case and use non-slip material under my guitar to get steady and positioned well, and I’m not looking forward to trying to play in winter with one half of me out of a jumper, lol.

I’m up to module 4 in the beginner grade one course, but I’m still doing the practice for the first three because I just couldn’t hang around doing only the A and D chord without going nuts. I’m very grateful that the fourth module has a ‘pick your own chords’ one minute changes practice. Each practice I find new depths to the pudginess of my fingers… but at the beginning of any session I can make my chords ring out clearly without too much pressure, with the exception of high strings and my changes are getting faster and I’m getting more relaxed when I play, which is lovely.

I’m hopeful that one day I can take the music inside me and make it, not for any fame or career, just to create and enjoy.

This is likely to be a boring read as time goes on, I think I’m making pretty slow progress by comparison to others, but I hope this diary-esque approach I take will be okay.

To date:
-know A, D, E, Em, Am, Dm, and can place A D E Em fingers pretty quickly. Tried to do one minute changes between D and Dm and found the app couldn’t parse the difference XD