Change strings... now have some buzz

Hi all. I was looking to go to a lighter gauge string to alleviate some finger pain, but switching to a Custom Light 11 from a Light 12 I am now finding some buzz when lifting my fretting hand off the neck (not exactly where). I didn’t have this behaviour before the switch.

Guitar in question is Seagull S6 Original.

So the buzz was annoying me and my son. I don’t have the tool for a truss rod adjustment, but when I called the store I got the guitar from, they suggested that I shouldn’t do that myself as I don’t know what I am doing (on this, I admit I am a rookie). I swapped the strings out back for the originals. I still think I hear a bit more buzz than I had initially, but not as much as I did with the Custom Lights.

I know about luthiers and guitar setup, and my shop actually owes me a setup within the first year of purchase (I am only 1 month in). I was holding off and was going to do it before winter as the seasons change. People can’t be in need of a setup every time they change strings… that would be crazy.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Sounds like you need to check the relief in the neck first and adjust the truss rod as necessary. Changing string gauge will sometimes necessitate slight adjustment.
Not difficult, and pretty straight forward, but can be unnerving if you’ve never done it before. A truss rod tool is just an Allen key on most guitars.

You can check out some tutorials on the web from reputable sites.

All the best.

Cheers, Shane

1 Like

I am not familiar with that particular guitar, but if its an electric, Justin’s lesson series on setting up your guitar might help?

A truss rod adjustment can be a bit intimidating, but the ‘try a tiny adjustment and check’ method is recommended, i.e. turn it an eight of a turn, check for buzz, rinse and repeat. You should be able to find out which frets are buzzing by playing them one at a time from the nut to the bridge.