Changing from open D chord

I’m a beginner, Grade 2. When changing between chords, it’s often nice to hear the chord being switched from continue ringing (sustaining?), giving a smooth transition to the new chord. But when I play songs that require switching from D to another chord ), I always get a hiccup - almost as if I’ve muted the chord. Is there anything I can do to overcome this? I’m getting this a lot with Heart of Gold.
Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi, I think a lot of it is because D only has 1 open string so when you go to change you have to take your hands off the fretted 3 strings. So is pretty normal. I think the main thing is just to keep your rhythm going, if the chord is a bit rocky your ok for the next one, but if the strumming stops the music stops. And as you practice more the changes get quicker and smoother

3 Likes

Any time you lift your fingers you will mute any fretted strings only the ooen strings will continue to ring out. Strumming the open strings after you life your fingers is a perfectly normal thing to do. It will take some practice it keep it in time.
Justin has a lesson on this on the web site.

3 Likes

Thanks Jordan and Rick. That totally makes sense - only one open string to continue ringing. I recall Justin saying something about strumming open strings after lifting fingers…I suspect there will be more on this as I progress.

2 Likes

With practice judi you’l fine you’ll naturally play that last note in some instance as your fingers move to the next chord i.e. unfretted. It’s purely lack of experience/practice that is making you “hear” the muted sound at the moment. Just keep on with the course and it’ll get better.

2 Likes

Judi, when I play Heart of Gold, I sometimes add an up-strum on the open strings as I transition from the D to the Em. This fills in the sound a bit between the D chord and the Em chord.