Chord changing buzz

As a beginner my biggest issue at this moment is this, when I change between chords I seem to get a string buzz about 50% of the time. I have tried changing my hand position, pushing harder on the strings, pushing less on the string and different release times of my fingers from the strings. I still can’t seem to get rid of that annoying buzz. Does anyone have any tips for me? Is it possible that this is just a timing thing that will improve with more practice? Many thanks!

Mike

2 Likes

Could be all sorts of things, and hard to know without a video.

How long have you been playing?

I have been playing for just about 1 month.

Its pretty common after a year a times let alone a month.

Keep practicing, perfect chord changes and fast chord changes and at some point they meet in the middle!

1 Like

Thank you Rob!

Hi Mike @mikemonica12, fellow beginner here. As @jkahn said, photos help with the diagnosis. That said, I’ve been at it for about a year, and this still happens to me. Most often it’s because my fingers are not close enough to the fret. Easy to finger properly when I practice the chords alone, and when doing one minute changes I’m pretty good. But play a song and the buzz is back. It’s worse when my hands are tired. I also know that it’s getting better over time, which means - keep practicing!

Thank you for the insight Judi!

I wouldn’t worry about it as you’ve only been playing a month. Just keep practicing and playing.

It could be your technique, your guitar, fingernails, calluses snagging… all sorts of stuff.

Thank you for your advice. I intend to keep practicing. I have a video I made today but I have never uploaded anything to Youtube before. I am attempting to do that now and I will send a link if and when I get that accomplished. :smiley:

Will definitely improve with simply playing!
Keep on making great music, and have fun playing!!!

Thank you!