Chord Formation on Acoustic vs Electric Guitars

Hi all,

This may be a bit of a ramble - apologies in advance! I’m a returning beginner, been playing regularly for about 10 months. I’ve been on my acoustic, and recently took the plunge and bought an electric (a not-heavy Epiphone 1961 Les Paul SG Standard) after trying all of the usual styles I could get my hands on. I’d read that electrics are “easier” to play for various reasons, but lighter strings are usually cited. It certainly seems one doesn’t have to press the strings as hard! I’m having a blast with my new guitar but - I’ve noticed a couple challenges:

• I have a really bad tendency to bend the strings! My pinky on the big G slipped right off the fingerboard the first time I played :flushed:, others are not that bad but I can tell I’m still bending many. Am I still pressing the strings to hard? I noticed this when I was trying out various guitars, but naively thought I’d adjust easily.

• Chord changes that I thought I’d gotten pretty good at on the acoustic are a whole new challenge on the electric. I guess things are just in a slightly different place on a different guitar!

• This isn’t really related to chord formation I think, but I’m also having a bit of difficulty figuring out how to hold the guitar, how to adjust the strap, where to keep my elbow…my shoulder/arm seems to fatigue pretty quickly. I practice sitting…for giggles I tried standing up and that was even more confusing! I’ll tackle that in the future.