Coated Strings & String Conditioner

Afternoon all,

I just finished changing the string on my acoustic guitar. I have used D’Addario XT strings. I have a quick question as it is my first time using coated strings. Do I still need to apply string conditioner, or will this remove the coating? I have checked the D’Addario website and cannot find any advice.

Cheers,

Michael

I would just clean them after your playing session in the usual way, I have never used string conditioner at all tbh I don’t really think that it’s needed if you keep your strings clean and sweat/grime free.

4 Likes

I didn’t know there was something called string conditioner

2 Likes

I guess Mike has this and other similar products in mind.

Personally, I use them from time to time but I change my strings 3-4 times a year anyway and wipe them off with a dry cloth after playing, so these products don’t make much difference in my case.

Also, I doubt they would remove the coating from coated strings.

1 Like

For years I had a can of FASTFRET just recently am using it :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks, everyone; I much appreciate you taking the time to respond

@DarrellW, I always clean down the strings with a dry cloth after use, but my hands sweat like mad. I have gotten by with the conditioner, but I thought I would give coated strings a try.

@jkahn, me neither, till talking to an ex-colleague at the beginning of the year! @Jozsef, is spot on; that’s exactly what I had in mind. I wipe the strings down after every session, but I have horribly sweaty hands, so I usually use this to help keep them clean and in better condition.

@iguitaryou, How is FASTFRET, Tom? I thought about giving it a try a few months back but never got around to purchasing it.

1 Like