Confused about some of the exercises

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie here so forgive me if I’m missing something simple. I’m confused about what I thought some of the exercises were supposed to be and what the app seems to want from me - specifically the chord perfect and anchor finger exercises.
My understanding from Justin’s video was that these are supposed to be done for a certain length of time - one minute, three minutes, whatever. Both exercises will tell me in the app how long I should do them for but then both will just wait until it hears me do 3 reps of whatever it is and then tell me I’m done with no reference to how much time has gone by. This makes no sense to me in particular for the anchor finger exercise. I was under the impression from the videos that we weren’t really supposed to be playing the strings at all for that one. What the app seems to want me to do doesn’t bear much resemblance to what I thought Justin described.
What am I missing? Seems like implementing a timer would be much simpler. I know I can just time it myself but then why am I using the app? ( I know, the songs)
Despite everything I just wrote, I am really enjoying finally trying to learn to play the guitar that’s been sitting, lonely and ignored, in my garage for the past 20 years. Well, except for the fingertips on my left hand but you have to start somewhere.
Thanks in advance for (hopefully) pointing out whatever it is that I have overlooked.

Hi @jobrien929 John, and welcome to the forum! I don’t have the app anymore, so I can’t check what’s happening there - but I’m sure someone else will jump in on this. However, I can tell you that what you thought you understood is exactly what you’re supposed to do: do the exercise for a certain amount of time. So if this is not what the app is doing, it seems that it’s the app not doing what it’s supposed to do - not you :slight_smile: