Crusty sends greetings from Maine, USA, the Pine Tree State

Several decades ago I got a Sigma DM3 acoustic (established in 1970 and affiliated with Martin, if that gives it more gravitas). Played it on and off for years, learned basic chords (even an F barre!) , but my playing could best be described as “episodic”. Fast forward to 2004: rummaging around in the attic looking for God-knows-what and…hey, my old guitar! I should put some new strings on it! So I did. It sounded good. Something was rekindled. I started playing again and was fortunate enough to watch a couple of Justin’s videos. Signed up. Then I thought, Justin says it’s easier to learn on an electric guitar because the strings are thinner and the action is lower. Made sense to me. So I waited until my wife was in Germany visiting my daughter and grandchildren and bought a PRS Starla. Oh, man, what a beautiful instrument! I know you’re not supposed to acquire gear as a substitute for real practice and study, but… And as my wife tells everybody, “He got a humidifier. It’s not for us, it’s for his guitar.”

6 Likes

Hi Dana

Great to hear from you. We had the chance to visit New England back in 2016 for our son’s wedding, it was just like being on a movie set with all the amazing scenery.

Look forward to hearing more from you.

1 Like

Hi Dana,
Welcome ,and i wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

2 Likes

Hello Dana / Crusty and welcome to the community. Finding Justin and the JustinGuitar website full of lessons is a rich blessing. You’ll find only positivity and support and encouragement as you learn here in the community. :slight_smile:

Welcome Dana, inspired decision to get some new strings on the acoustic, good work!

I disagree though, of course new gear makes us better, because it makes us want to practice more :wink:

All the best and have fun!

1 Like

Welcome Dana. Have fun with the PRS.