D major chord. Is it a voicing or inversion?

Hi there,
I started learning music theory a bit more serious recently. Having read two books already (Music theory for dummies & Idiot’s Guides: Music Theory, now reading Idiot’s Guide: Guitar theory) I learnt many many new things. But one thing still I can’t understand.

So D major chord consists of notes D-F#-A (D being root, F# major 3rd, A perfect 5th) and on guitar is played as xx0323, or D-A-D-F# (D being root, A being perfect 5th, D being perfect fourth /in relation to previous note A/, and F# being major 3rd /in relation to previous note D/).

So what I simply can’t understand is how come it’s a D major chord when inside there is perfect 4th and after D comes perfect 5th instead major 3rd? It’s same with many other chords like A major, E major, etc. Can someone please explain it to me? Is it actually inversion of a chord because how guitar is made with strings tuned to different notes, unlike on piano? Or does that mean that as long as I play D-F#-A notes it’s D major regardless where on fret board (or any other instrument) and in what order I play the notes?

Tnx for clarification!

[quote=“SkyBlue, post:1, topic:215054”]
So D major chord consists of notes D-F#-A (D being root, F# major 3rd, A perfect 5th).

Yes. 100% correct.

and on guitar is played as xx0323, or D-A-D-F#

For that chord shape yes, 100% correct.

(D being root, A being perfect 5th

Yes, 100% correct.

D being perfect fourth /in relation to previous note A

NO. 100% oncorrect and the place where you have confused yourself.

Within any chord construction, all notes and their intervals are always referenced to the root. No other note takes its place as the marker to measure an interval from.

So what I simply can’t understand is how come it’s a D major chord when inside there is perfect 4th

There is not a perfect 4th as explained.

and after D comes perfect 5th instead major 3rd?