Dan’s NGD… plus a question

So some of you may have seen that Dan and I decided to get him acoustic drums! :drum:

He’s been thinking about it for a while and since it is his birthday at the end of the month, it seemed like a good time to go for it. We have been getting a bit more serious about our playing and at some point would love to form some kind of band, so this is a step in that direction :wink:

My question is for those of you that have played live or as part of a band, how do you protect your hearing? The acoustic drums are obviously quite a bit louder than the electric set we have and I’m going to need to up the volume of my guitar and vocals to compensate. As I am completely new to this world, any advice would be appreciated :grinning:

But now, what you really came for which is the pics:

17 Likes

Don’t know the first thing about drums, but these look absolutely beautiful. It’s a bit unfortunate that the whole point is to thump them with bits of wood! :joy: Looking forward to hearing them in action.

My son (who is 40 and a surgeon who should know better!) has got mild tinnitus from going to concerts and playing his guitar(s) through headphones. He now uses decibel reducing earbuds when listening to loud music or playing guitar.

Alpine MusicSafe Pro High Fidelity Music Earplugs for Concert & Noise Reduction, 3 Interchangeable Premium Filter Sets - Professional Musicians Ear Protection - Hypoallergenic Reusable Invisible Plugs Amazon.co.uk

1 Like

Hi Jennifer and Dan,
Happy NDD :sunglasses: :partying_face:
And buy good earplugs especially for music-making people… small investment for very important protection.
Greetings

Same :laughing: This is definitely Dan’s world, but I am learning a bit watching him. When I was at the music store with him, I let him hang out with the sales person (who happened to be a drummer as well) and went to go play at the guitar wall :wink: