Darn. Life happened and my learning progress got derailed

I was making good regular progress, half way through Grade 4 of the theory course. Then about a 5-6 weeks ago there was 3 weeks with 3 family emergencies, each about a week apart, and they took all of my mental attention without me even realizing. I came out on the other end exhausted from it. (Everyone is improving thankfully)
Then school started (I am a teacher) and I have been going full steam. Now it’s been over a month without real practice (where did the time go) and I realize how much I missed.

I gotta get back on track, it’s just getting over the hump of figuring out where to start again. Some pieces are still there but there is some mastery that is gone. It’s scattered.

Have you ever had to get back on track?

5 Likes

I’m on a trip away without my guitar (7weeks), and missing it🙁. When I get back I’ll start with a few songs I learnt well and enjoyed playing. That should get the chord /‘finger memory going😁

2 Likes

I’ve had a couple of major breaks through illness, I have Fibromyalgia and stress or extremes of weather conditions can make me have a major flare up where even basic living is hard; I am getting back on path but the current weather in the UK isn’t helping.
I really can’t play anything like the standard I used to be able to so decided to go back through the new BC and try to get my playing better, then came our heatwave and scotched that!
Despite my age (70) I’m determined to get back to a decent standard again despite my problems; with determination and patience I’m pretty sure that it’s achievable.

5 Likes

Im in a similar boat. 4 weeks off and due to work comitments likely at least another 4. Not too worried, ive experienced similar in sporting pusuits and found within a few months i usually surpass where i was.

1 Like