Dave - Older newbie from NC

Complete newbie from NC. I’m 50 and have wanted to learn the guitar for quite a while. Actually bought a guitar 10 years ago and it sat. I decided back in December to actually commit to learning this year so I subscribed to Justin’s app for a year and have been working on it since. Just started grade 2. Doing really well with chord perfect and one minute changes but struggle with the changes once I add strumming patterns beyond D D D D. Any tips on how to improve chord changes while strumming? I think I’m just going to set a metronome to a specific bpm and work through a progression of changes and stop focusing on songs for now.

I do have a question about the stuck 3/4 chords from lesson 8. Can those be used to replace the regular c/g/d/a/e minor chords? He said in the lesson that songs for the module would have the stuck 3/4 chords, but looking at the chord bank for the songs added in lesson 8 do not have those chords.

1 Like

Hey Dave, welcome to the community, I’ve got a brother who lives near Raleigh. I started at the ripe old age of 53 after wanting to learn for a long time and 10 years later it’s been so worth all the effort, so keep at it!

At the start, strumming patterns that have any offbeat / syncopation, like DDuuD can be tricky to learn, don’t worry about it too much yet. My advice is to stick with the DDDD for a bit and keep reintroducing the others again in a short while.

1 Like

Thanks!

Welcome to the Community, Dave.

I have not used the app nor worked through the newly revamped Grade 1 and Grade 2 programme. That said, you may find it helpful to work through the programme to the point you have reached on the App. I think you will find more richness in the website video lessons with supporting text.

That may or may not give you further pointers to help working on your strumming.