Dean from northern Utah

Hi, I’m Dean and I live about an hour north of Salt Lake City, Utah. I have been wanting to learn how to play guitar for many many years, just never actually got around to giving it a go until now. My main hobby is woodturning, but that’s just not horrible feasible when my shop is averaging about 25 degrees in the winter because it’s not heated lol. So now is the time to begin the guitar journey. My first guitar should be arriving tomorrow and I couldn’t be more excited.

4 Likes

Welcome Dean, I’m so glad you’re here, you’ve got some wonderful learning ahead of you. What sort of guitar have you ordered?

I ordered the Ibanez aw54Lopn. I was looking for the best “budget” guitar i could find that actually came left handed. I went with that one because A) it was one of only 2 in my budget that had the solid top (being mahogany helped as well, being a woodworker i love mahogony) and B) the only other one in my budget that comes left handed is a fender that has really bad reviews.

1 Like

Welcome to the Community, Dean. The guitar looks fabulous. Wish you well as you embark on this adventure.

Welcome Dean and happy NGD (New Guitar Day). Good luck with your learning journey and plenty of people here to ask advice of…no question too silly to ask.

Hello Dean and welcome to the community. :slight_smile:

Yes, that does sound a little cool. Please don’t forget to post a picture of your new guitar and now it is tomorrow so happy NGD. Enjoy.

Hi Dean and welcome

You should get some good tones from that Ibanez, it looks good in the ads I’ve just checked. I have dark mahogany Washburn HB32 which has a richer fuller tone to its sibling sunburst maple HB30.
Happy NGD in advance. Take your time with the course and make it enjoyable. Plenty of folk here to help if you get stuck.

Cheers

Toby
:sunglasses:

1 Like