Dean's Learning Log

1…
Ok so it’s been almost a week now and I’ve just become aware of this learning log area.
I do keep a journal at home to help me and hopefully in a few weeks I’ll look back at some silly mistakes etc.
I’m an absolute beginner and have done grade 1 Mods 1&2 so basically I know A&D now, I can do around 26 changes a minute but can’t consistently get a nice sounding chord. D seems fine, I’m happy with that but I’m struggling with A. It seems if I pick each string to check them before strumming then G is often a bit flat/dead (I’m not quite up with the terminology yet) and I can sometimes trap the e, either with my 3rd finger or often the edge of my palm which seems a common problem with beginners. It seems that better thumb placement and a little wrist rotation may help here and hopefully this will get easier with time. Lowering my thumb behind the neck does make more room and can stop the problem with the e string but it feels so alien right now and quite awkward.
Anyway that’s where I am right now. Hopefully this will become a useful area for me to reflect and iron out some of these issues and also be more aware of the good stuff too. I know it’s not going to be easy and there will be frustrating times ahead but when I look back to just over a week ago I’d never even tried to play a guitar before so I’ve made LOADS of progress and feel I’m doing well.

4 Likes

HI Dean, glad that you found the learning log area. Your problem with the A chord is very common, but you will get better with time. If you want to see something to make you feel better, look at the first few Nitsuj practice sessions that Justin posts at the end of the grade 1 module list on the website. Justin recorded himself learning to play the guitar left handed and the results are not pleasant at first.

1 Like

Also look at the discussion tab for the How to Play the A chord page in the JG website.Grade 1 lessons.