Distance between strings and Nut width

I’ve hear it suggested to buy a guitar with wider spacing between strings to help with playing chords. They said sometimes you can even get just replace the nut on your current guitar and have it cut differently to allow for more space between the stings. Does anyone know if this is a worthwhile idea or if Justin suggests it?

I am no expert, but I doubt you really could adjust your nut for wider spacing unless it was made wrong to start with.

If you cut a new nut and widened the spacing the E and e strings would by necessity be closer to the edge and therefore not play well. Too easy to push off the side of the fretboard.

Even then, you would be going to a lot of trouble for a fraction of a mm spacing.

If you really feel you need wider strings, get a guitar with a wider nut to start with.

In my 1.5 year journey so far, I have played 40 mm, 42 mm, 44mm, 48 mm and 52 necks. I think they all were playable for my smallish hands, just different.

I am leaning to 44 mm and greater because I don’t like using a plectrum, and lost interest in electric guitars. Not because of the fretting hand.

1 Like

As said, cutting a new nut with the E’s closer to the edge would make things tricky to play for its own reasons.

Aside from downsides of changing string positions on a new nut (which others have also covered), different neck widths do feel different and its a very personal thing. There’s also more than neck width in it.

I have 2 acoustics and a squier strat.

Strat has the narrowest neck and closet strings. Lightest strings too. Easier for some chords because the stretch isn’t as far and it’s easier to mute strings that need to be muted. I can get my thumb over the top sometimes. Harder for others because the strings are closer. Easier for picking arpeggios.