Do you prefer playing guitar with a pick or fingers?

As a beginner I have been concentrating on using a pick and strumming to play songs. I’m moving towards picking individual strings with the pick and then eventually on to fingers. do you guitar players have a preference?

1 Like

I play mostly with my fingers. I strum, pick and play lead with my fingers. I do use a pick for some types of music.

3 Likes

Fingers all the way.

But I suspect starting with a pick allows you to focus more on the basics.

3 Likes

I never thought of it that way @Jamolay. I started out with a pick and never really played with finger until end of Grade 1. I suppose it did let me focus on the basics of pick control whilst doing Grade 1 and Part 1 of the Strumming Techniques Course. Now I’m getting a bit more into fingerstyle it’s only now that I’m learning to strum and pick with my fingers etc. As @stitch says it depends what type of song your playing and the arrangement of that song. Only now my views have went from playing with the pick to being able to do both as competently as each other.

2 Likes

I play acoustic guitar exclusvely with fingers, and electric guitar almost exlcusively with a pick. It’s not so much to do with material as I play many of the same songs on both. It’s more that I prefer the way they sound when played that way. I guess that’s handy, because it means I keep my hand in on both methods.

2 Likes

I don’t have preference all up to a song really what suits better. I think I am better at fingerpicking rather than playing individual strings with a pick when it comes to patterns during songs, but better with a pick rather than fingerpicking when it goes to solos etc.

1 Like