Dodgy sounding high E on acoustic, frets 2 & 3

Hello. My acoustic guitar is a Tanglewood TRSF CE VS. When playing the high E string in frets 2 & 3, the note sounds harsh/off. Fret 1 is not much better, but from fret 4 on, the tone is less jarring. I have a recording of the sounds but cannot share them on here. I am a newbie so don’t know what is causing the problem - Googling has suggested fret wear. I bought the guitar second-hand so do not know how old it is. The strings are relatively new.

Can anyone offer advice, suggestions please? I’m hoping this link to the clip will work but can share elsewhere if not. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1TuAn55E78pbD1uCYmX0jRw2DCuPhFNN_/view?usp=share_link

Thank you,
Sarah

Hi Sarah,

Given that the guitar is used, the frets may not be even. There are specialized tools to check if a particular fret is higher than the adjacent ones, like this one below:

https://www.stewmac.com/luthier-tools-and-supplies/tools-by-job/tools-for-fretting/leveling/stewmac-fret-kisser/

If you have a ruler that can reach the first 3 frets at the same time, you can check it for yourself and see if the frets need any adjustment (fret levelling, or just a gentle but firm knock on the in case they got loose).

If you are still in doubt, take the guitar to a luthier and explain where the sound is not good.

1 Like

I had these symptoms when the nut of my electric guitar was too high.

You end up having to stretch/deform the strings more up in the first few frets to make contact with the fret wires so it pulls the pitch high.

Or uneven frets as suggested above.

I managed to pop the nut out and sand a little off the bottom, but it’s not that straight forward. I’m planning on getting mine into a luthier for a bone nut and fret dress at some stage.

1 Like

Hello Jozsef,

Many thanks for your reply. I will investigate and likely take the guitar to my local music shop for some TLC.

Best wishes
Sarah

1 Like